Skip to main content

Set-up Teams

Create and manage multiple teams within an organization account

Introduction

Teams is a way to group members on BrowserStack to reflect your organization’s structure. Creating teams is useful for organizations having multiple teams working on different products, belonging to different business units or might be geographically dispersed. We recommend creating teams that align with organization’s internal team structure (e.g. Frontend, MobileSquad, etc ).

Teams

Who can create Teams?

If you are organization Owner or Admin, you can create, delete teams and assign users to each team. Multiple members can be added in any teams with Admin or User roles.

How to create, delete or manage Teams?

  1. Visit User Management under Account.
  2. On the left navigation bar, Click Teams Team management view
  3. Click Add Teams button.
  4. In the Add team dialog, enter a Team Name and click Add Team Add Team dialog
  5. A new team will be created visible in the Teams table. Team Add successful
  6. You can now add users to the new team from the same page by clicking on the Add button in the Members column or by navigating to the users list.
  1. Visit User Management under Account.
  2. On the left navigation bar, Click Teams
  3. On the Manage Teams page, locate the Team in the table titled Teams.
  4. Click More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row and select Add Members. Alternatively, You can also Click the Add button in the Members column if available. Add Members
  5. Add members dialog will open. From the Search members dropdown, one by one, select the members that you wish to add. Assign Members to Team Dialog
  6. Click Add to add the members to the team.
Note: Once assigned to a team, members will continue with their previous roles within the team.
  1. Visit User Management under Account.
  2. On the left navigation bar, Click Teams
  3. On the Manage Teams page, locate the Team in the table titled Teams.
  4. Click More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row and select Delete More actions
  5. On the Delete team dialog, click Confirm to delete the team Delete team dialog
Note: On deleting a team, the users who were part of that team will be moved to Organization.
Note: You can also make use of the REST APIs to manage users and teams.

Advanced Team management features

Once teams have been set-up for your organization, you can also make use of advanced team management features:

  1. User license allocation for Teams
  2. Parallel allocation for Teams
  3. Manage data access across Teams

User license allocation for Teams

Once Teams are created, owner can choose either to assign user licenses (for Live and App Live products) to individual teams or let the teams share from the pool of organization user licenses. This helps to ensure that the user licenses are distributed as per testing needs of respective Teams.

How user license allocation for team works?

  • Suppose an Organization Acme Inc. has a total 100 users for Live product. There are 2 teams in this organization Team A and TeamB.
    • The Owner allocates 25 user licenses to TeamA.
    • User licenses for TeamB are left blank.
Org/Team User licenses
Acme Inc.  
Team A 25
Team B  

This means that this maximum of 25 users (having Live product access) can be invited/added to Team A. The remaining 75 user licenses left can be shared between the Acme Inc. and TeamB.

How to allocate user licenses to a team?

  1. Visit User Management under Account.
  2. On the left navigation bar, Click Teams
  3. Within the Manage Teams page, find the Team in the Teams table.
  4. Click More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row and select Manage Licenses. Alternatively, You can also Click the Allocate button in the Resouce allocated for column if available. More actions
  5. Select the Live/ App Live product from Select Product dropdown. Allocate licenses to team
  6. Add the user licenses limit that you want to assign to the team.
  7. Leave the Assign user licences input field blank for the Team(s) that will be sharing user licenses with the Organization.
  8. Click Update to save the changes.

What happens when you hit the team limits of user licenses for a product?

If you exhaust the product licenses available for a team e.g Live for Team A, there will be an error encountered in the following scenarios:

  1. Invite a member with Live product access.
  2. Assign Live product access to an existing user in the organization.

Allocate parallels to teams

Parallel allocation for Teams

Parallel test execution gives you the scale you need to deliver quality at speed. Once Teams are created, organization can choose either to assign dedicated parallels (for Automate and App Automate products) to individual teams or let the Teams share from the pool of organization parallels. This helps to ensure that the parallels are distributed as per testing needs of respective Teams.

How parallel allocation for team works?

  • Suppose an Organization Acme Inc. has a total 100 parallels for Automate product. There are 2 teams in this organization TeamA and TeamB.
    • The Owner allocates 25 parallels to TeamA.
    • Parallels for TeamB are left blank.
Org/Team Parallels
Acme Inc.  
Team A 25
Team B  

This means that Team A can run 25 parallel tests (for Automate product) at a given instance. The remaining 75 parallels left can be shared between the Acme Inc. and TeamB.

How to allocate parallels to a team?

  1. Visit User Management under Account.
  2. On the left navigation bar, Click Teams
  3. Within the Manage Teams page, find the Team in the Teams table.
  4. Click More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row and select Manage Licenses. Alternatively, You can also Click the Allocate button in the Resouce allocated for column if available. More actions
  5. Select the Automate/ App Automate product from Select Product dropdown. Allocate parallels to team
  6. Add the parallels limit that you want to assign to the team.
  7. Leave the Assign parallels input field blank for the Team(s) that will be sharing parallels with the Organization.
  8. Click Update to save the changes.

Manage data access across Teams

Manage Data Access allows organizations to control visibility of data across teams (on the product Dashboards, Test Insights, APIs etc.). Owner can either choose to provide test data access to all users across the organization or restrict users to view test data of their respective teams only by selecting the desired setting:

  1. Global access: Unrestricited data access to all users.
  2. Team access: Access restricted to respective team of user.
Role Value offering
For administrators: Get the flexibility to maintain data security. Control test-data visibility for team members to enforce compliance with internal security protocols by reducing the risk of information breaches.
For users: See what matters upfront! Get customized views across product and test insights dashboard for faster and easier access.

Learn more about Manage Data Access and how to enable Global access or Team access settings.

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better

Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked






Thank you for your valuable feedback

Is this page helping you?

Yes
No

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better

Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked






Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Talk to an Expert
Talk to an Expert