Skip to main content
No Result Found
Get your setup working faster. Join our Discord for optimisation tips from elite testers. Join our DiscordJoin our Discord

Manage projects in BrowserStack Test Reporting & Analytics

Learn how to rename or delete a project in Test Reporting & Analytics, and how to update projectName in your SDK config after a rename.

Tests and builds in Test Reporting & Analytics are organized into projects. This guide details the steps to rename or delete a project in Test Reporting & Analytics.

Rename a project

Renaming a project also updates the corresponding project in Test Management, if applicable. Your SDK config still points to the old project name, so update it before your next build run.

Only members with the required privileges can rename a project. For details, see Who can rename or delete a project.

To rename a project:

  1. Open Projects.
  2. Click the kebab menu next to the project and click Rename. If you don’t see this option, you don’t have access to rename that project. The kebab menu on a sample project expanded showcasing the rename option
  3. Enter the new Project Name and click Confirm. The Rename Project pop-up with the Confirm button highlighted
  4. Click Done.

Update the project name in your SDK config

Renaming a project on the dashboard doesn’t change the projectName value in your browserstack.yml file. After you rename a project, set projectName to the new name in your SDK config:

browserstack.yml
Copy icon Copy

The following table shows what happens on your next build run, depending on whether you update projectName:

SDK config after the rename What happens on the next build run
projectName updated to the new name New builds go into the renamed project, and the build sequence numbers continue from the last build.
projectName still set to the old name Test Reporting & Analytics creates another project with the old name, and builds in that new project start again from serial number 1.

Delete a project

Deleting a project is an irreversible action. It will also erase all data in the corresponding project in Test Management, if applicable.

Follow these steps to delete a project:

  1. Open Projects.
  2. Click the kebab menu next to the project and click Delete. If you don’t see this option, you don’t have access to delete that project. The kebab menu on a sample project expanded showcasing the delete option
  3. Type the Project Name in the text box and click Delete Project. The Delete Project dialog with the confirmation text box and the Delete Project button

You can also delete a project as follows:

  1. Open Projects.
  2. Search and open the project you want to delete.
  3. Go to Settings > General.
  4. Click Delete under Delete Project. The Delete Project section on the Settings General tab with the Delete button
  5. Type the Project Name in the text box and click Delete Project. The Delete Project dialog opened from project settings, with the confirmation text box

Who can rename or delete a project

Only org-level owners or admins can rename or delete a project. This restriction is to prevent unintended changes that could affect multiple products.

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better

Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked





Thank you for your valuable feedback

Is this page helping you?

Yes
No

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better

Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked





Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Talk to an Expert
Download Copy Check Circle