We’re improving your user management experience

Account section is the central location for managing your organization on BrowserStack. If you need to manage your personal profile, manage users and their access, view settings and permissions, check usage and billing, then visit Account – it’s all there!

What’s changing?

We are continuously working on the feedback of our customers to improve the User Management experience on BrowserStack. Organization page is the central location from where you invite new users and manage access (Role, Team, or Product) of existing users.

We’re rolling out changes to make User Management seamless for the Owner or Admins who manage multiple users (and their access) in their organization on BrowserStack. For phase one, all customers across all plans – Free, Standard, and Enterprise – will see a change to the Organization page designs. This change affects the User list visible under the Manage Users section.

Later, in the next phases, you’ll see more changes upcoming. Please stay tuned!

Why are we doing this?

We want your User Management experience to be:

  • Simple: We want to make sure it’s simple and easy to manage users across all BrowserStack products.
  • Scalable: Whether you’re managing 10 or 1000 users, we want the experience to be seamless for you.
  • Fast: Whatever task you need to perform you can do it in a quick manner.

New user list

User list contains all your users that are added to your organization. The new user list has a refreshed view - Compared with the previous design, we’ve simplified the information that is visible about your users, and made it easier to manage users by adding filter, search and sort functionality.

User Management - New user list view with changes

Note: Teams is a feature only available on Enterprise plan.

List of changes

  1. Filters: We have introduced filters to allow you to filter specific users from the entire user list. You can use Status, Role, Team or Product Access filters. More details are mentioned in the next section.

  2. Invited users: Members that have not accepted the invitation sent to them (by other team members via Email) will be listed as <Pending Invitation>. Once they accept the invite sent to them and join the team, they will become part of your Organization account on BrowserStack and can get started with testing. In order to view list of these users:
    • Click Status filter
    • Select Pending
  3. Inline Edit: Edit Role, Team, or Product access for any member in the user list. You can modify access for both active as well as pending members.

  4. Search: You can search members from the user list by typing the name or email in the search box.

  5. Modify access: Modify multiple access (Role, Team or Product) for any member in the user list.

Filter members

Name Description
Status Active - Filter members that are part of your organization account.
Pending - Filter members that have not accepted the invitation sent to them (via email).
Role Filter has 3 possible values:
Owner - View the Owner of the organization account.
Admin - Filter members with the Admin role.
User - Filter members with the User role.
Team Filter members of a particular Team. Members that are not part of any team, will be part of the Organization. The organization name will have an Org. tag visible in the filter.
Note: Teams feature only available on Enterprise plan.
Product Access Filter members with having access to product e.g. Automate.
The value No product Access allows you to filter members that don’t have access to any product on BrowserStack.

Modify access of members

User with Owner or Admin permissions can modify access (Role, Team or Product) for any member in the user list. To modify access of any member:

  1. Find the member in the user list.
  2. Click the More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row.
  3. Select Modify access: User Management - Modify access
  4. A dialog will appear. You can select the access you want to modify: Modify access dialog
  5. Click Save to save the changes.

If you just want to modify single access, you can also hover on Role, Team or Product access. On hover, a pencil icon will appear. Click the pencil icon. A dialog will appear and you can modify the access. Modify access dialog

Remove a member

To remove an existing member:

  1. Find the member in the user list
  2. Click the More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row.
  3. Select Remove user. A confirmation dialog will appear.
  4. Click Confirm. User Management - New user list view with changes

What happens when you remove a team member?

When you remove a team member account, several things happen:

  • The team member loses access to your Organization account on BrowserStack.

  • The team member receives an email telling them that they have been removed from your Organization account on BrowserStack.

  • Any tests run by this member will not be deleted. They will be visible on the respective product dashboards.

If a member has been invited by sending an invite email, and they have not accepted the invitation they will be visible in the user list as <Pending Invitation>.

To revoke invite of a pending member:

  1. Find the member in the user list
  2. Click the More actions (3 dot icon) button at the right side of the row.
  3. Select Remove user. A confirmation dialog will appear.
  4. Click Confirm. User Management - New user list view with changes

What happens when you remove an invited team member?

  • The current invite will be revoked.

  • You can invite the user again (if needed) using Send invitation email option. A new invite will be sent to the user.

  • After revoking the invite of any user, you can reuse their license and invite another user.

Teams

In order to create a new team:

  1. Click Manage Teams button. Modify access dialog
  2. Enter a team name and click Add Team. Modify team
  3. If you want to add existing users to a Team, select user from the user list and click Modify access to modify Team of that user.
Note:
  • Customers with Enterprise plans can create team(s) within the organization and add members to those team(s).
  • Only users with Owner or Admin permissions can create or edit team and assign user(s) to these teams.

From when will the new changes be visible?

From June 1, 2021, both new as well as existing customers will see these changes.

Are you required to do anything?

You don’t need to do anything! These changes will be visible to you, with no interruption to service.

Tell us what you think

We’d love to get your feedback about these changes that we are introducing. Help us improve the experience by using the Give feedback link in Account section header.

Note: For any questions or concerns, you can anytime reach out to our support team. We would make sure to get back to you as soon as possible.

Upcoming features

We are actively working towards improving your overall administration experience. Some upcoming improvements will include better invitation experience, resend reminder to pending users and more.

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better







Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked






Thank you for your valuable feedback

Is this page helping you?

Yes
No

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your feedback so we can do better







Contact our Support team for immediate help while we work on improving our docs.

We're continuously improving our docs. We'd love to know what you liked






Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Talk to an Expert
Talk to an Expert